After the station 4, at the corner of Via Dolorosa and El-Wad is located the Station 5 (“The Gai”) at the small Franciscan chapel. At this corner, the road turns abruptly to the right, then begins to climb the hill with a series of stairs. This chapel is dedicated to Simon the Cyrenian, who helped Jesus with the help of Jesus carrying the heavy cross. This is based on Luke 23:26: “And as they are taken away, they have a hold on one of them, Simon, a Cyrenian, coming out of the land.” In 1229 this little chapel was created. Franciscan site in Jerusalem. This place was filmed by the team of 360HolyPlaces™ for you.
In 1889 the Franciscans recovered this site and then built a new chapel to represent the site of the fifth station of Via Dolorosa and relocated the famous stone with the imprint of Jesus to the left of the entrance, Finally undertook extensive renovations in 1982.
An inscription above the entrance door “Simoni Cyrenaeo Crux Imponitur” commemorates the encounter between Jesus and Simon the Cyrnian. Apart from John, this episode is reported by the Synoptic Gospels and the tradition of this place dates from the thirteenth century.
Discover this place in Virtual Reality 360° by clicking on the image below.